Sa 22.06.2024


In 1997 Tajikistan signed the Treaty on Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapon and from November 1st, 2001 has been accepted as Member State to IAEA.

Tajikistan is member of number international agreements under IAEA auspices, including Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material;  Revised Supplementary, Agreement Concerning the Provision of Technical Assistance by the IAEA, Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management,  Agreement on the Privileges and Immunities of the IAEA, Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident, Convention on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency.

In 1999 Tajik Government has established the Nuclear and Radiation Safety Agency of the Academy of Sciences which authorized as National Focal Point of Tajikistan to IAEA simultaneously. In accordance to National Law "On Radiation Safety” the Nuclear and Radiation Safety Agency (NRSA) under Tajik Academy of Sciences is liaison body for technical cooperation programs (TC) with IAEA.

Since 2001 to 2015, after membership Tajikistan in IAEA, the Republic of Tajikistan implemented 16 IAEA rojects are already implemented and 3 additional are proved by the Agency for implementation. The Republic of Tajikistan takes part in more than 40 regional projects as well. Nearly of half of them are already completed and others are under the way.

IAEA Technical Cooperation (TC) Department supports priorities of Tajikistan and plays an important role in establishing and developing national nuclear technology capacities. IAEA provides significant socioeconomic benefits in agriculture, environmental protection, human resource development, human health, sustainable energy development, radiation technology and safety and security.

Tajikistan closely cooperates with IAEA Department of Safeguards for implementations of its commitments under the relevant international conventions and other documents.