Fr 19.07.2024


The CTBTO was established in 1996 with the purpose of making preparations for the effective implementation of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty and preparing the first session of the Conference of States Parties to the Treaty. Mr. Tibor Tóth from Hungary is the Executive-Secretary of the CTBTO. Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty is a cornerstone of the international regime on the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and the foundation for the pursuit of nuclear disarmament. Today 44 states possess nuclear power or research reactors and all of these states now have to sign and ratify the treaty so that it can enter into force. CTBTO stands at 177 signatures and 138 ratifications, including 34 of the 44 ratifications needed for Entry into Force. International Monitoring System and International Data Center provide States Signatories with data and analysis (

On October 7,1996 the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan has signed Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) and on June 10, 1998 the Treaty was ratified by the Parliament. Tajik Government has nominated National Agency of the Nuclear and Radioactive  Safety  of the Academy of Sciences as National Focal Point for the Commission and the State Signatories. In 2004 the datalink between the CTBTO International data centre and the Agency was established.